Spring Break and Meredith from Grey’s Anatomy

For an entire week of spring break, I became a spoiled person. This starts with the fact that I slept on a double-pillow top bed with 650 thread-count sheets, which is mighty different from the mattress on a piece of wood that I sleep on every night. In addition, I did not make a to-do list at all for the week, which I have done for almost every week for three years. I did not accomplish any homework aside from one blog for the whole week. I also had the opportunity to eat a home cooked meal everyday. Being a college student, that is definitely different from what I have on a regular basis. The best part of my week was the time I was able to spend with my mom and friends I have had since I was a small, blonde awkward elementary student.

In the middle of this week, it dawned on me that I will probably not get the chance to do this for an entire week for quite a long time.  Even when I get the opportunity to have an entire week off from work, which I hear is not something you necessarily get as soon as you are hired. Since I hope to be married and to have children one day, I will have to use my week off to not only do things for them but also with them. So once I realized this, I definitely tried to take full advantage of my last week off.

So even though it was my last week off, I really did enjoy it. This situation also revealed to me that my mother was right. As much as I hate to say it, my time in this comfortable college bubble is quickly coming to an end. Meredith from Grey’s Anatomy summed it up perfectly, “We’re adults. When did that happen? And how do we make it stop?” I guess I will just have to enjoy it while it lasts.

1 Comment »

  1. kaf0423 Said:

    This is a wonderful blog post, Allison. I completely agree with you. This is the feeling I get each and every time I go home. We value spending time with our family more and more these days because our main place we live and work is here in Denton. I couldn’t have said this better myself 🙂 Keep up the great work! Comments are always greatly appreciated on my blog too, by the way.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

